Steven Krauwer Award for CLARIN Young Scientists 2016

logo clarin ericDescription

This award is given annually to an outstanding young scientist or engineer in recognition of major contributions toward CLARIN goals in the areas of language resource building, tool or service development, or knowledge sharing.


Certificate plus 500€ cash prize


The award recipient must work in any of the countries or regions covered by CLARIN ERIC members, CLARIN ERIC observers and Partners that have an agreement with CLARIN ERIC according to article 18 of the statutes. The intended goal of this award is to promote young scientists and engineers below the age of 35.


The recipient will be chosen by the National Coordinators’ Forum of CLARIN ERIC (NCF). The NCF is responsible for establishing the procedure for reviewing the nominees’ work and for selecting the award recipient.


The prize will be presented at the CLARIN Annual Conference.


Each candidate must be nominated by two persons who are not affiliated with the nominee’s home institution. Nominators and nominees must be working in the countries or regions covered by CLARIN ERIC members or by CLARIN ERIC observers.

Ideally, the nominators should come from two different countries. Nominators should provide a written account of the nominee’s work and the reasons it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to CLARIN. A list of bibliographic references to the nominee’s work, relevant links to language resources, language tools, and/or knowledge sharing activities by the nominee are desirable.

Nominations should be sent by e-mail to Koenraad De Smedt, Chair of the National Coordinators’ Forum.

Nomination Deadline for 2016

September 14th, 2016