Steven Krauwer Awards 2017: call for nominations

clarin logoSTDescription

These awards, named in honour of Steven Krauwer (the first executive director of CLARIN ERIC) are given annually to outstanding scientists or engineers in recognition of outstanding contributions toward CLARIN goals in the areas of language resource building, tool or service development, exemplary use cases, user involvement or knowledge sharing.


In 2017, two Steven Krauwer Awards will be given, one in each of the following categories:

  1. Young CLARIN Researcher. The intended goal of this award is to promote a young person below the age of 35.
  2. CLARIN Achievements. The intended goal of this award is to recognize the work of a person or a group of cooperating people.


A certificate will be given to each recipient; in addition, the prize for Young CLARIN Scientist will be 500 Euro.


The award recipients must be researchers or engineers working in any of the countries or regions covered by CLARIN ERIC members, CLARIN ERIC observers or partners that have an agreement with CLARIN ERIC according to article 18 of the Statutes.

The recipient of the award for Young CLARIN Researcher should not have reached the age of 35 years on December 31, 2017.

The recipient of the award for CLARIN achievements should be a single person or a group of people who have closely cooperated with each other.


The recipients will be selected by the National Coordinators’ Forum (NCF) of CLARIN ERIC. The NCF is responsible for establishing the procedure for reviewing the nominees’ work and for selecting the award recipients.


There will be a prize ceremony at the CLARIN Annual Conference.


Candidates must be nominated by at least two people who are not affiliated with the nominees' home institution. Nominators and nominees must be working in the countries or regions covered by CLARIN ERIC members or by CLARIN ERIC observers. Ideally, the nominators should come from two different countries.

Nominators should provide a written account of the nominees' work and the reasons it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to CLARIN. A list of bibliographic references to the nominees' work, relevant links to language resources, language tools, use cases, user involvement, knowledge sharing and/or other related activities by the nominees are desirable.

Nominations should state the names, affiliations and contact details of all nominators and should be sent to the Chair of the NCF, Koenraad De Smedt, by e-mail to .

Nomination Deadline for 2017

July 31, 2017, 13:00 CET.